Controlling your Mind

A few weeks back I went to a seminar led by Dr. Kimberly Ventus-Darks.  She calls it the Dr. Kim experience and boy, was it ever.  She’s something like a tornado and a work-place preacher, and quite effective.  I loved every minute of it.

Her opening was “Control your mind”.  It stuck very strongly with me, because the following point she made was that often our minds are controlling us, going to places that make us miserable and unhappy.   I can definitely relate.

Like everyone else, I have spent hours obsessing over things that in retrospect didn’t matter at all.   Meanwhile, the stuff I should be focused on, the circumstances I can actually do something to change are shelved while I throw  myself into a dither about something we have no control over (which is why we’re so worried).

I’m planning to change my own focus.   I have several personal goals that I’m hoping to see through this year.  With a new e-book, Zombie Cowboy Two-Step and an audio book for Death Knell on the way, I want to fix my mind on the creative aspects of life when I’m home and not endlessly retread worries that will never happen.

The one thing I’ve noticed is that the more projects I complete, the better I feel.  The more I write, the more eloquent I find myself to be.  Hopefully after a dozen more books, I’ll have made it.

About jeanetteraleigh

Jeanette Raleigh is an artist and author who has spent most of her life at some creative pursuit. Whether painting a castle or writing a novel, Jeanette enjoys the playful aspects of creation and strives to make worlds where others feel at home. You can find her works of art and information about her fiction at www.jeanetteraleigh.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment