In What Universe Does this Make Sense?

Across the world and physically unaffected, I am still angry and annoyed at the attack on the Nord Stream 1 & 2 pipelines. Here we have all of these world leaders complaining about my gas car while they cause a catastrophe that dumps massive amounts of propane into the ocean.

I have come to the conclusion that most of our presidents for the last fifty years are criminals who never got punished. I hope that the United States had nothing to do with this, but if we did, I would hope that the perpetrators are tried and convicted and sent to prison, starting with the guy who gave the order and anyone who knew about it and decided to move forward.

At some point, we need to view the planet as all of ours to be cared for and cherished. I don’t believe in the green movement because I see it as a politicized way to control people. Kind of like when Washington State required emissions tests on every-day citizens for a decade while tons of sewage got dumped into the Puget sound. Our carbon footprint can’t compare to the rockets, freight ships, and flights of those most interested in passing these laws.

That said, I buy products to last, try to avoid plastic, put my garbage in the garbage and act like a responsible citizen. It seems like the actions of a responsible citizen can’t compete when corporations, governments, and terrorists can cause massive full-scale disasters and later blame the individual when the Earth suffers.

I didn’t intend to make a political blog when I started. But I feel like at some point, all of us little people need to raise our voices and say, “This is not okay.”

About jeanetteraleigh

Jeanette Raleigh is an artist and author who has spent most of her life at some creative pursuit. Whether painting a castle or writing a novel, Jeanette enjoys the playful aspects of creation and strives to make worlds where others feel at home. You can find her works of art and information about her fiction at www.jeanetteraleigh.com.
This entry was posted in The Environment and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment