Living in Another World

One night a very long time ago, my mom told me that if I wanted to return to a dream, I should think about it at night before I went to sleep.  That single sentence changed my life because it turned me into a daydreamer.

And what better thing for a daydreamer to do than write. 

What does that mean to me as an author?  What I have discovered is that the authors I like the most make worlds that I can join without having to ‘figure out my place’. 

My goal is to create a world so totally awesome that people want to imagine in it. Besides financial independence and writing full-time, that is a huge goal of mine.  I even think I know which book it will come from.  It’s in outline stage and could be up to five years out.  I have a huge scope and the idea is one I really need to hit dead on, so I’m giving myself time.

What makes a world ‘daydream-able’?

 Strong characters that the reader loves…not likes…LOVES.

 An ‘open’ plot, meaning that enough cool stuff happens that maybe the reader can imagine themselves as part of a scene. (I’ve never imagined myself ‘as’ the main characters. I’ve always taken another role, so for people like me, you’ve gotta leave room to move.)

Emotional ties.  Something that stirs the reader so much that your book becomes a top 5.  Seriously, there’s only so much room in a person’s everyday life for fantasy.

A feeling of epicness in some way. Whether we’re talking the setting, plot, or the love between characters, the story needs vitality and strength.

You might grab someone’s heart with one line.  I didn’t say touch. I said grab.  While I don’t daydream in  The Patriot’s world, I burst into tears at the theater when the little girl who wouldn’t talk cried out, “I’ll say anything you want. Just don’t leave.”  Write with your emotions fully engaged and maybe you’ll have that moment when a character’s words ring true for someone else.

I’d be heading off to write, but first I need to daydream a bit…

About jeanetteraleigh

Jeanette Raleigh is an artist and author who has spent most of her life at some creative pursuit. Whether painting a castle or writing a novel, Jeanette enjoys the playful aspects of creation and strives to make worlds where others feel at home. You can find her works of art and information about her fiction at www.jeanetteraleigh.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

