New Directions

I’ve been focusing on a pen name series for quite some time now, but in the past few months I’ve had an idea for a cozy mystery series. I’ve been reading The Comic Toolbox by Jon Vorhaus. It has been a tremendous aid in figuring out the characters and how to make the novels funny and as much fun to write as possible.

I’m learning about exaggeration and antagonistic characters, how comedy mixes pain and truth. We’ll see how it goes. I’m hoping to have the first book out by 2023.

Update Oct 2023:

So, I’m still writing the cozy mystery series. I’ve started 6 books, finished one and scrapped it, finished another and holding onto it, but nothing is ready to release. We’ll try for 2024. I really want these to be funny. And so far…they’re not…yet.

About jeanetteraleigh

Jeanette Raleigh is an artist and author who has spent most of her life at some creative pursuit. Whether painting a castle or writing a novel, Jeanette enjoys the playful aspects of creation and strives to make worlds where others feel at home. You can find her works of art and information about her fiction at www.jeanetteraleigh.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment