Writing Conferences

Yesterday I went to a writing conference where we listened to other authors for about 10 minutes and then wrote for 45 minutes (repeated six times).  I found it almost hilarious how comfortable an entire room of people can be with silence.  One of my coworkers asked me if I was nervous to go meet with a bunch of people I didn’t know, and I realized that I wasn’t nervous at all. Mostly because I know exactly who I’m meeting.  Lovers of books and words.  Who could go wrong there?

People attend this kind of association for different reasons.  Sometimes to network with authors, agents, or editors, sometimes to learn, and sometimes to rejuvenate.  For me, this was a rejuvenation conference.  I’ve worked so much overtime in December and January at my ‘real’ job that the writing slipped.  For those who spend a portion every day writing and feel that it’s a calling, you’ll understand the toll this took on my contentment.Not that I was completely useless. I had plotted out Book 1 of the Elemental Rage Series.  (Working title…we’ll see where it goes.)

Still, I felt like a hamster running along a treadmill wheel and getting nowhere.  Enter the writing conference, and I have new energy and new excitement. To anyone who has an avid interest in the arts, whether it be writing, painting, sculpture, or quilting, I would highly recommend finding like-minded people to help you in the day-to-day (a.k.a writer’s group or artist’s group) and attending a conference or two a year to meet new people.

It was nice to jump back in and feel productive again.

About jeanetteraleigh

Jeanette Raleigh is an artist and author who has spent most of her life at some creative pursuit. Whether painting a castle or writing a novel, Jeanette enjoys the playful aspects of creation and strives to make worlds where others feel at home. You can find her works of art and information about her fiction at www.jeanetteraleigh.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

