Motivation

I haven’t written in over a week.  Something happened and whoosh, the energy just drained out of my projects.  So what could a writer who has no motivation possibly say about motivation?

Over the course of the last few months a couple of members in my online writer’s group have lost spouses.  I’ve never met them in person and yet it profoundly affected me. They are people I talk with and root for. And somehow their pain hit close to home.

I wondered if what I was doing was what I should be doing. I started questioning my direction and what I really wanted out of life.  Then I caught the flu.  Not enough to be hospital sick, but enough to be lazy sick.

So I stopped.

I stopped writing, but I didn’t stop thinking.  I didn’t stop planning.  I didn’t stop making goals.

When I first decided I needed to step back into writing, that’s where I started–with the to-do list and the goals for next year.

I know without a doubt that I can write 60,000 words in a month. That’s 2,000 words a day. Easy with weekend catch-up.  But I pull myself in SO many directions.  I want to write in too many genres in too many series with too many pen names.  Then there’s editing and cover creation.  And each hour has always seemed precious, so I feel guilty if I’m not busy.

I guess it’s not that I’m not motivated.  It’s that I want to find and focus on the thing that drives me most.  I need to find my most passionate passion and FOCUS and sometimes that requires distance–stopping and stepping back.

http://www.amazon.com/First-Love-Dark-Visions-Book-ebook/dp/B00637KAOA/ref=sr_1_10?ie=UTF8&qid=1414971879&sr=8-10&keywords=jeanette+raleigh

About jeanetteraleigh

Jeanette Raleigh is an artist and author who has spent most of her life at some creative pursuit. Whether painting a castle or writing a novel, Jeanette enjoys the playful aspects of creation and strives to make worlds where others feel at home. You can find her works of art and information about her fiction at www.jeanetteraleigh.com.
This entry was posted in ebooks, writing advice and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

