Legislating Morality & the Movie Belle

I’m about to write a political blog. I just finished watching the movie Belle and the percolation of a few years of thinking about legislating morality and why I found the term troublesome rose to the surface.  After watching Belle, it occurred to me why I dislike the term.  Legislation must be moral.   It must account for and protect the WEAKEST member of society. Not increase the power of the strongest.

I have such a mixture of political beliefs that it doesn’t make sense for me to affiliate myself with either party.  At the base of my beliefs is this.  That all people, young and old, should be free unto the point that they take away someone else’s freedom.  Those who would take away another’s freedom should be punished fully to the extent that they have done so, regardless of their class or position in society.

In my world view, the judge guilty of corruption is guilty of treason against the American public.

But back to the movie, the writer’s of that movie spoke so clearly to the very soul of my beliefs that I wanted to share.  I apologize in advance if I missed any words.  This was done by pausing the movie and writing down the words as the actors spoke them.

From the movie Belle

“Laws that allow us to diminish the humanity of anybody are not laws. They are frameworks for crime. And quite frankly I really do not care if you are an individual without character or conscience, but a land whose laws sanction, not control, the barbarous among its citizens, that is a country whose hope is lost.”

Those words made me weep, not for the woman in the movie, but for the loss of our own hope, for the ‘frameworks for crime” that now sanction the barbarous acts of our own citizens, for the loss of my own naivete that somehow the world would be different when I grew up, that somehow my generation would get it right, only to find out that the cards were stacked from the beginning and that corruption permeates the whole of our society, and we are in a steady decline.

Few are the voices speaking out against the atrocities committed in this modern world  and those voices are so seldom heard. I’m tired of television shows where the supposed ‘good guys’ justify torture.  I’m tired of turning on the news and hearing another lame excuse for removing another right of American citizens.

I’m weary of violence perpetrated from those who have sworn to protect and serve. Those who take an oath of office, whether it is a member of congress, a judge, a police officer, or the president himself, those men and women should be the pride of the nation, the best of the best, the least corrupt and the most morally responsible. And when they make laws or enforce laws, it should be in defense of the weakest member of society.

That’s all I have for today.  I think I need a nap.

 

 

About jeanetteraleigh

Jeanette Raleigh is an artist and author who has spent most of her life at some creative pursuit. Whether painting a castle or writing a novel, Jeanette enjoys the playful aspects of creation and strives to make worlds where others feel at home. You can find her works of art and information about her fiction at www.jeanetteraleigh.com.
This entry was posted in Belle, laws, politics, right and wrong, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Legislating Morality & the Movie Belle

  1. Pingback: Legislating Morality & the Movie Belle

  2. Lauren says:

    I just wanted to share with you that I had the exact same response to those words.
    I wept, then immediately rewound so that I could get those words down exactly as they were written (spoken). I have not ever read or heard a more relevant statement. I have searched over and over again in order to find the author of these words, and have yet to get a clear answer. If this information is something you have been able to obtain, I would greatly appreciate your knowledge on this subject. I would like to give credit to the brilliant mind that shared these words.
    Thank you.

Leave a Reply

