Planning the Next Book

I had it all figured out.  I was just putting the finishing touches on Book 3 of a middle-grade fantasy that I write under a pen name and after that I was going to write the sequel to Fate’s Dark Glass, followed by Death Grip, the sequel to Death Knell, and then Book 3 of Lost Love. And then FINALLY FINALLY I could start the epic fantasy that’s been itching to be written.

But suddenly I had the Book 4 plot flashing through my head on the middle-grade fiction, and everything is shifting.   Why not write the Epic Fantasy if I REALLY want to write it?  Well, it has a lot to do with consistency and marketing.  Right now, the paranormal werewolf series and the kid’s series are selling.  The fantasy?  Not so much.

I sort of surprised myself because I actually love the middle grade storyline I’m doing enough that I may end up with a dozen books before the end of next year. It may very well completely shift my schedule, which I suppose is the best thing about not having a contract.

So, the plan is to drop Death Grip until next year, continue with the sequel to Fate’s Glass and Book 4.

What is the bottom line to all this?  It relates to ‘art’ for its own sake and ‘commercial art’.  I don’t consider that I’m selling out by pushing a project back because another project is getting attention.  I love writing, but what I’ve recently discovered…I also love selling what I write.   I love seeing the reviews and having someone say that they stayed up all night to read something I wrote.  That’s awesome!

So I’m going to write what people enjoy (and what I enjoy writing).  You won’t see a book on famous baseball players from me.  And definitely not a literary fiction work with elegant prose.  But it does mean my epic fantasy will have to wait…at least for a little while.

About jeanetteraleigh

Jeanette Raleigh is an artist and author who has spent most of her life at some creative pursuit. Whether painting a castle or writing a novel, Jeanette enjoys the playful aspects of creation and strives to make worlds where others feel at home. You can find her works of art and information about her fiction at www.jeanetteraleigh.com.
This entry was posted in ebooks, Epublishing, plots, plotting, Writer's advice, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Planning the Next Book

  1. authormbeyer says:

    I really understand what you are getting at with the many books coming together at the same time. I vowed to finish one before the next one started this time around, yet this weekend I found myself writing three books at the same time. The stories are just all three rolling out. What can I do? If I try to hold back a tidal wave with my willpower alone, I am doomed to drown.

Leave a Reply

