Focus

For every writer who lives off a writing income, there are a hundred others who balance a full-time job, write, and care for their family all at the same time.  To be successful, that is, to actually make it, a writer has to keep going even when things fall apart in another realm, to work even when their mind is on something else.

This has been a stressful week at work, and unfortunately, I’m the type to bring the worries home to ponder and think about and ponder until my stories are lost in a sea of “How am I going to solve the problem of …?” which is quite different from “What will I do with Ali?” (Character from Fate’s New Glass).  In their own place, both questions are important, but being a messy human, I don’t compartmentalize.

I know other writers who are facing even more difficult challenges–writing through cancer treatments or taking care of sick family members.  I titled this blog “Focus”, and I suppose now you’re waiting for a word of wisdom on how to actually get through these huge obstacles that take away our creativity and leave us drained.  Life isn’t a meadow-walk.  It’s more like a long distance hike with mountains and valleys and sunny days and storms.  And sometimes you’ll cover fifty yards and be grateful you made it that far.

Because I lose myself better in art, I decided to make the cover for my next book and work on revising Dark Visions before a re-branding.  Creating plot and new content is the most difficult task for a writer, and I just finished writing Fate’s Dark Glass and need to let it rest a while before I change it.  By introducing something different into my work-load, it allows me to put away those other problems for an hour or two. (For some it’s a hobby, but if you want to actually become professional, you’ve got to work when your mind is otherwise occupied.)

So I allowed my focus to change. And yet, it’s still on the final goal, which is to produce a book that people will love.  Here’s my new title…in a few months, the revisions will be finished.  I’m hoping to release it sometime next month.

KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA

 

And in case you’d like to test out the series to see if you like it, the first book of the When Were & Howl series is free…

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B004ZZGUAA/ref=as_li_qf_sp_asin_il_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=9325&creativeASIN=B004ZZGUAA&linkCode=as2&tag=jeanetteralei-20&linkId=SLJUENAVSETZ5HSP

small WWH 1 MOONSTRUCK purple copy

 

 

 

“Certain images and/or photos on this page are the copyrighted property of 123RF Limited, their Contributors or Licensed Partners and are being used with permission under license. These images and/or photos may not be copied or downloaded without permission from 123RF Limited.

Woman in Red Jacket Looking Down: Copyright: <a href=’http://www.123rf.com/profile_lvnel’>lvnel / 123RF Stock Photo</a>

Copyright: <a href=’http://www.123rf.com/profile_elenamiv’>elenamiv / 123RF Stock Photo</a>

About jeanetteraleigh

Jeanette Raleigh is an artist and author who has spent most of her life at some creative pursuit. Whether painting a castle or writing a novel, Jeanette enjoys the playful aspects of creation and strives to make worlds where others feel at home. You can find her works of art and information about her fiction at www.jeanetteraleigh.com.
This entry was posted in creativity, Uncategorized, Writer's advice, writing, writing advice and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

