Every Day

What’s the secret to your success?  Every author stands at the edge of the great ocean of Amazon books and looks longingly at those few top sellers and wonders.  “Why are they selling?”   I’m wading in.  I’ve gotten off the beach and I’m starting to see the kind of sales that will make me a true professional. So what changed?

A little deeper research will show you that these folks usually have ten to twenty books behind them and are still producing. Last year I decided if I wanted to be a professional author, I had to push all other pursuits aside and focus with single-minded stubbornness on producing, which means sitting at my netbook (worth it’s weight in gold–my production level has quintupled since purchasing it) and writing. When I’m not writing, I’m online looking for advertising.

If writing is a hobby, then you might make enough monthly to pay the electric bill.  A hobby can be picked up or put down at a whim.  You’re not in the mood to write?  A hobbyist goes for a walk or plays a game on the computer instead.  A hobbyist reads when they’re not in the mood to write.

It’s okay to be a hobbyist. I’m looking forward to the days when I can return to painting.  I’d love to do a ship model (I’m not joking), and learn how to surf.  But for now, my energy is 100% focused on the next story and marketing my current work. With a full-time job, those are the choices I’ve made so that I can make writing bear the kind of fruit that gets people to the New York Times Bestseller List.  That’s where I want to be.

The author who wants to make a career out of writing sits down and writes, even when the sun is shining and they want to go to the park.  Every day.

Before I was producing daily, I wrote a paranormal romance.  Here is the link to the free first book of the series and the collection.

http://www.amazon.com/Moon-Struck-Book-When-Were-ebook/dp/B004ZZGUAA/ref=sr_1_2?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1402146811&sr=1-2&keywords=moonstruck

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00JA26MLK/ref=s9_bbs_gw_d0_g351_i2?pf_rd_m=ATVPDKIKX0DER&pf_rd_s=center-2&pf_rd_r=197BC8PKXE32W1AC5W7F&pf_rd_t=101&pf_rd_p=1688200382&pf_rd_i=507846

 

 

About jeanetteraleigh

Jeanette Raleigh is an artist and author who has spent most of her life at some creative pursuit. Whether painting a castle or writing a novel, Jeanette enjoys the playful aspects of creation and strives to make worlds where others feel at home. You can find her works of art and information about her fiction at www.jeanetteraleigh.com.
This entry was posted in ebooks, Writer's advice, writing, writing advice, writing group and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

