How do you Interact with the public? Protecting Your Image

I remember in high school taking a ‘test’ to see what job fit my personality. Either I failed the test or the test failed me. You see, I always wanted to be a writer, but that test said I was artistic. Writing was a social activity and that was my lowest category. I am NOT the social butterfly that a writer apparently needed to be.

It’s been years, but I’m still mostly Artistic. I’m not excruciatingly shy the way I was in childhood. I’ve outgrown much of it, but given a choice between a party and a good book, I’m with the book every time.

One of my friends brought a book to my attention about maintaining an online reputation. My problems are teeny-tiny right now. Reviews are the primary place where an author feels a little like Jack Sparrow after getting slapped. Sometimes it’s, “Well, I deserved that.” And sometimes its, “I DIDN’T DESERVE THAT”. It’s that misunderstood author thing that gets us into trouble. I try to ignore the reviews and move forward. It’s far too easy to type a reply these days! đŸ™‚

The way an author responds to criticism gives readers an insight into their personality. They will pass judgement based on responses and reactions. So take a deep breath and step back and use your thinking brain to decide what to do. Some authors build a reputation on ‘being who they are and to heck with the consequences’. I’m not a tough girl, so I couldn’t pull it off 24/7, and I’m not about to try.

If you’ve got a business venture and need to protect your image, this book might be worth a look…

http://www.amazon.com/Reputation-Justice-reputation-harassers-competitors-ebook/dp/B00JE1ZRYA/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1396995184&sr=1-1&keywords=reputation+justice

Also, in the interest of being the writer I’ve always dreamed, here is my paranormal romance werewolf series. See? All that daydreaming DID go for something useful…
http://www.amazon.com/Moon-Struck-Book-When-Were-ebook/dp/B004ZZGUAA/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1398524183&sr=1-1&keywords=moonstruck

About jeanetteraleigh

Jeanette Raleigh is an artist and author who has spent most of her life at some creative pursuit. Whether painting a castle or writing a novel, Jeanette enjoys the playful aspects of creation and strives to make worlds where others feel at home. You can find her works of art and information about her fiction at www.jeanetteraleigh.com.
This entry was posted in ebooks, Epublishing, online reputation and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

