The Writing Process Blog Tour

I’d like to thank Tria Reed for inviting me to participate in the Writing Process Tour. Currently at work on an inspirational novel that follows the spiritual path of a stone-age heroine, Tria also writes extensively about spontaneous meditation.

Her writing is powerful, whether it be work on the novel or the creation of her website. I love reading the stories Tria tells of her personal journey on the spiritual path and look forward to hearing more.

Her website is http://www.spontaneousmeditation.org.

Because her website is geared more toward the spiritual path, Tria Reed is participating in the tour on Sandra Sarr’s blog. Here is the link to hear about her writing process.

http://macsarr2000.wordpress.com/2014/04/09/tria-reed-the-writing-process-blog-tour-2/

What am I working on?

I’m just starting a new series for my raccoon shapeshifter, Ali, from the When Were & Howl series. I love Ali, and she hasn’t been able to tell her own story yet. She steals the show from Jen in the first series. It made sense to make her the star of her own series. I plan to create a standalone that will work for new readers while also satisfying those readers who have followed Ali’s friendship with Jen.

How does my work differ from others in its genre?

I inject more humor into my paranormal urban fantasy than most authors. This isn’t necessarily true of my other work, but with the combination of characters and setting in When Were & Howl, it just seemed the perfect venue for laughter.

Why do I write what I write?

I want the reader to have an emotional response to the characters. When I pull it off, I feel great. As an avid reader across genres, it’s actually hard for me to pick a genre and stick to it while writing. This has led to several standalones which isn’t exactly a solid business practice. I’m reining myself in and sticking to a series now that I’m learning the business..


How does my writing process work?

I write daily as much as I can. With a full time job, there are evenings when my brain is mush when I get home. At that point, I usually go to sleep early, wake up naturally around four or five and write for an hour in the morning.

I usually come up with a kernel of an idea, and it blossoms from there. Sometimes I use index cards, sometimes mind-mapping, and then there is the ever popular seat-of-the-pants method.

When I’m not writing, I use those in-between moments during the drive to work or in line at the grocery store to work out plot problems. I take walk-breaks at work to think about where I’m going to take a character when I get home. I really don’t think it’s so much the method or the process that’s important. Showing up every day. That’s vital.

Thanks for taking the time to read about my process.

And for those of you interested, Moon Struck, the first book in When Were & Howl, is free on Amazon, Nook, & ITunes.

http://www.amazon.com/Moon-Struck-Book-When-Were-ebook/dp/B004ZZGUAA/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1397274627&sr=1-1&keywords=Moon+STruck

About jeanetteraleigh

Jeanette Raleigh is an artist and author who has spent most of her life at some creative pursuit. Whether painting a castle or writing a novel, Jeanette enjoys the playful aspects of creation and strives to make worlds where others feel at home. You can find her works of art and information about her fiction at www.jeanetteraleigh.com.
This entry was posted in Writer's advice, writer's group, writing, writing advice, writing group and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Writing Process Blog Tour

  1. Sandra Sarr says:

    Jeanette, I can’t wait to meet your raccoon shapeshifter, Ali. I, too, read across genres and admire your tendency to “mix it up” while writing what you do.

Leave a Reply

