Miss a flight? Don’t call Expedia!!!

Until last week, I had never contacted Expedia through internet or phone, generally preferring to work directly with the airlines. Last week a young relative called frantic because she had missed her flight and didn’t know what to do. It was a small airport and there was no one at the counter. After getting the booking information, I called Expedia.

That was my first mistake. Expedia told me they could get my family member on the next flight…for $500 dollars. That’s right. $500. I said, “Are you sure? That doesn’t sound right. The airlines say a flight change is at most $200.”

The woman said, “Yes. The price of the ticket has gone up since the last booking and you have to pay the difference.”

Well, my red alert bull sensor was going off big-time. I asked the rep to call the airline and verify the flight and cost to give myself time. When she came back on and confirmed the price, I said, “So if I were to call the airline, would they tell me the same thing?”

She said, “Yes, Expedia does not charge additional fees for something like this.”

I said, “I need to call “name of family member” first.”

So I called my frantic relative and the news made her more frantic, but I said to hold off making a decision. I would call the airline directly, which I did. I spoke with a very helpful woman and explained the situation. She set the next flight up…AT NO CHARGE!!!

Which leaves me wondering…”How is Expedia still in business?”

So, if you find yourself in a similar situation, just call the airline directly. It will save you a lot of stress.

(This blog article is the opinion of the author. The events happened as stated.)

About jeanetteraleigh

Jeanette Raleigh is an artist and author who has spent most of her life at some creative pursuit. Whether painting a castle or writing a novel, Jeanette enjoys the playful aspects of creation and strives to make worlds where others feel at home. You can find her works of art and information about her fiction at www.jeanetteraleigh.com.
This entry was posted in Expedia, missed flight and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Miss a flight? Don’t call Expedia!!!

  1. I read a horrible article about Expedia recently: http://www.theverge.com/2012/12/28/3809328/one-small-hotels-long-nightmare-with-expedia. What’s disappointing is that a lot of other companies are under the Expedia umbrella, so you have to work really hard to avoid using them or an affiliate when booking!

Leave a Reply

