Kindle Fire Department Results

I feel that at ten days, I can give a fair representation of the results from the Kindle Fire Department book of the day sponsorship on Jan 1st. The first day about halfway through the day brought 11 sales. After that the results dropped exponentially for a total of 17 sales attributable to the Kindle Fire Department at a price point of $2.99. I’m still hoping to see sales as a result, but the more time goes, the less-likely I’ll know that it was this particular website that caught someone’s attention.

I do think it was a worthy investment, but I would do things a bit differently.

1) I would pick a book in a series. If this had been a series, I believe I would have had better across the board results.
2) Better timing. My day was Jan 1. I thought that would be a good day, but since then have read that the best days are actually weekdays when people are at work and bored. And here I thought people went shopping on the weekends!
3) Cross-promotion. While it is helpful to know exactly what a site is doing in terms of number returns, the all-important thing is to get that coveted Amazon rank. I feel that if I had done some more marketing in the days leading up to the sponsorship, I would have had a better chance with ranking.

I’m still learning and while disappointed in the results, I will keep on going.

http://fireapps.blogspot.com/2013/01/death-knell-kindle-book-of-day-11.html
twittercoverpage copy

About jeanetteraleigh

Jeanette Raleigh is an artist and author who has spent most of her life at some creative pursuit. Whether painting a castle or writing a novel, Jeanette enjoys the playful aspects of creation and strives to make worlds where others feel at home. You can find her works of art and information about her fiction at www.jeanetteraleigh.com.
This entry was posted in book, book of the day, kindle fire department, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

