Keeping Customers

Books in their own way are a bit of a commodity.  I can buy the same book from Barnes and Noble, Amazon, or a local store and expect to pay about the same amount regardless of where I shop.   So why do people flock to Amazon?

Well, I have just spent the last fifteen minutes on the Barnes & Noble site with the search word Patricia Briggs in the engine, waiting, waiting, waiting.  I mean.  Seriously.  I have a $20 gift card.  It’s an e-gift-card for B&N only.  Do you think if I were looking for a specific book and started at B&N that I would finish there?  No way. 

And not because I don’t want to give B&N business. I mean, what’s one conglomerate compared to another?  But their website right now is so slow that I am writing this blog while I wait.

Amazon makes buying SO easy.  Maybe too easy with the one-click purchase.  The thing is…what good does it do to spend money on advertising when the new customer comes to your site and gets frustrated by a bad experience?  Barnes and Noble is already in tough competition with Amazon. No reason to make it worse on themselves.  Hopefully they’ll buy a few new servers soon.

 

About jeanetteraleigh

Jeanette Raleigh is an artist and author who has spent most of her life at some creative pursuit. Whether painting a castle or writing a novel, Jeanette enjoys the playful aspects of creation and strives to make worlds where others feel at home. You can find her works of art and information about her fiction at www.jeanetteraleigh.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

