The Monster at the Beginning of this Blog

I’m not even kidding…

When I look out the window after a difficult round of typing, do I see a squirrel?  No. A bird? Not even close.  Do I see shrubs and bushes? Well, yes, I do, but I also see this monstrosity.  It is outside, thank goodness…

Now this is a close-up, taken from the other side of the window, because frankly, I’m a coward. Even still, her body is the size of my thumb. I say her because I’m paranoid that the thing will lay eggs and hatch and my art room/office will be infested with little spiders.
I thought about washing her out and then wondered if she’d find a ‘better’ place and come inside, so for now I’ve left her alone.

I’ve been thinking of a name…perhaps Grover, though there is nothing loveable (except to her mate before she eats him) or furry, (well, maybe, but I’m not getting close enough to find out) about her.  Still, I think she would qualify as a monster and has become the “monster at the beginning of this blog”.

About jeanetteraleigh

Jeanette Raleigh is an artist and author who has spent most of her life at some creative pursuit. Whether painting a castle or writing a novel, Jeanette enjoys the playful aspects of creation and strives to make worlds where others feel at home. You can find her works of art and information about her fiction at www.jeanetteraleigh.com.
This entry was posted in monster, spiders and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Monster at the Beginning of this Blog

  1. livesinstone says:

    I loved Govers Book as a child! Thanks for reminding me about it. 🙂 May your spider find new habitation (in a nice a tree or bush or something) soon. 🙂

  2. good god almighty. I moved from northern california to portland and encountered more spiders on a daily basis than I could believe. since moving back I have seen nary an arachnid. I know they are valuable in the cycle of life, yaddahya. they still give me the heebie jeebies!

  3. Me too. I’m used to the little ones and jumping spiders, but some of these bigger ones…ewww. I’m hoping it does go away or at least stays outside. I’m always armed with my trusty vacuum, but still…

Leave a Reply

