Being Chased by the Dream

My lifelong dream (aside from the few years that I turned aside to think of becoming an astronaut or marine biologist) has been in pursuit of a full-time writing career as a novelist.  Lately it seems that the dream has turned and is now pursuing me.

Does that mean I’ve caught it?  No. It means that now I’m being stalked. That when I try to spend a Saturday afternoon reading or at the library, the pressure to write leaves me feeling guilty.  When I go for more than a day or two without writing, the pressure builds.  The need to finish this book and that book and a short story to submit to Ellery Queen and soon I’m in a jumble of ideas all struggling to be out and done RIGHT NOW, which of course never happens because writing a novel is a long distance endeavor and must be met daily a little bit at a time.

Today I feel chased.  I’ve written 4 pages, but it isn’t enough.  I really need to be done.  However, I have 30,000 words to go, so I suppose I’d better be patient.

About jeanetteraleigh

Jeanette Raleigh is an artist and author who has spent most of her life at some creative pursuit. Whether painting a castle or writing a novel, Jeanette enjoys the playful aspects of creation and strives to make worlds where others feel at home. You can find her works of art and information about her fiction at www.jeanetteraleigh.com.
This entry was posted in ebooks, Epublishing, kindle and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

