Business Sense and the Creative Mind

We fall in love.  That’s a huge problem for artists.  After hours and hours spent drawing, it’s hard to realize something isn’t working and toss it.  I’ve changed the covers on my When, Were, & Howl novels at least three times.   After hours spent drawing a wolf, I thought “This is it!” And was SO proud when I released it.

Fast forward a half year and now I can look at the cover clinically.  It looks amateur. I have enough distance.  So, I changed the cover yet again.  Eventually I have to stop and let it be. I think this time I can.  This is it!!! 🙂  Here are my latest and hopefully final covers!

(Novelettes available for $0.99 on Amazon)

http://www.amazon.com/Episode-Wolf-Mouse-When-ebook/dp/B004ZZM1D0/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1344708437&sr=8-2&keywords=when%2C+were%2C+%26+howl

About jeanetteraleigh

Jeanette Raleigh is an artist and author who has spent most of her life at some creative pursuit. Whether painting a castle or writing a novel, Jeanette enjoys the playful aspects of creation and strives to make worlds where others feel at home. You can find her works of art and information about her fiction at www.jeanetteraleigh.com.
This entry was posted in creativity, ebooks, Epublishing, painting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Business Sense and the Creative Mind

  1. On the covers, it is an important promotion. It can be the difference if someone passes by or decides to buy. You’d think when we have looked at so many covers, that we should be the experts, huh. But actually doing the design, any design, is work. The ebooks and and paperbacks have truly wonderful covers compared to most hard bound book jackets out there. A librarian friend once told me that it is a shame about some beautiful book jackets that come on the newly purchased library book, That’s because the covers are taken off and tossed as the book is being cataloged and placed on a shelf. Your wolf design is dramatic, and does jump out and catch one’s eye. I began to design covers also for my Kindle short fiction submissions on Amazon. I think if I keep doing those, that they’ll get better. It is a challenge. The other two covers there were done by those publisher’s staff.
    Timothy J. Desmond
    THE DOC, ebook conspiracy thriller novel at
    http://amazon.com
    SWIM THE RED RIVER short story at
    http://www.amazon.com/Swim-River-Short-Fiction-ebook/dp/B008BHPCNY/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1339948726&sr=1-1&keywords=swim+the+red+river
    http://timsfiction-art.com
    http://xoxopublishing.com
    Tim’s Amazon author page at: http://www.amazon.com/-/e/B00694KQQO

    • So true. And we get so attached, we sometimes can’t see what needs improvement, although I feel like I’m starting to develop a more distanced eye for editing and hopefully soon for the design part as well. Congratulations on your new book!

Leave a Reply

