Happy Songs

I was listening to the radio the other day, flipping through channels when out of the blue the theme from Ghostbusters started to play. I felt an instant joy and was probably loud enough that the cars nearby could hear me singing along.

I thought about all the songs that make me groan and hit the change button, mostly teeny pop junk where the female singer is five pitches too high, but there are a few that bring at least a smile and sometimes a giddy happiness.

Here are my Happy Songs:

Under Pressure: why? Don’t know. I think it’s the riff at the beginning. I can’t even understand the lyrics, which is probably for the best. doo-doo-doo-dodo-dodo

Transiberian Orchestra Canon “On this Night, on this very Christmas night” No idea what the real title is, but I love it. I also love the song they play, all instrumental “Wizards of Winter” that a house decorating genius set his lights to.

Ghost Busters: As mentioned above.

Somewhere Over the Rainbow but only if Iz sings it.

The Muppet’s Movin’ Right Along and their own Christmas song. I’m not sure those have ever been played on the radio though.

Dancin’ With Myself and the Tarzan song round out the list. They’re second tier, but tend to put me in a good mood.

About jeanetteraleigh

Jeanette Raleigh is an artist and author who has spent most of her life at some creative pursuit. Whether painting a castle or writing a novel, Jeanette enjoys the playful aspects of creation and strives to make worlds where others feel at home. You can find her works of art and information about her fiction at www.jeanetteraleigh.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Happy Songs

  1. Fozzie is my absolute hero, and him & Kermit singing Movin Right Along is my number one Muppet film scene. I love playing it in the car, singing along, doing their voices.
    Fozzie “moving right along” ; Kermit backing vocals “dugadun dugadan”
    Brilliant.

    • My mom still has the original Muppets record that I got when I was a kid. I remember sitting in my room and writing down the lyrics to “Back there Someday” so that I could sing along. Jim Henson was one of the shining stars of the world.

      • I picked it up from ebay a few years ago, at the time it was the only way to get hold of it (it still might be…)
        I remember seeing Jim being interviewed on a kids TV show here in England a loooong time ago, and he brought kermit along to be interviewed aswell. He sat on the sofa, openly operating kermit, his lips clearly moving, but it shows the genius of him and the strength of Kermit’s character that when the frog was talking, you just didnt see Jim sitting there!

  2. Renard Moreau says:

    [ Smiles ] Well, Jeanette, I suggest that you get those songs and place them in your music collection; it will come in handy when you are feeling a bit down and depressed.

Leave a Reply

