Grumbly Typing

I enjoy the creative process of writing. I like making characters and figuring out what to do with them and putting pen to paper. But this morning, I am faced with a week’s worth of notebooks and typing them into the computer.  This is my least favorite part.

There are thousands of writers who type directly into their computer.  I understand that it would save time, but also my word count would suffer a drop of severe proportions. I can carry a notebook (old-style paper kind) and pen anywhere without fear that I might accidentally destroy the screen or get leaves in the keyboard.

Which brings me back to the moment when I actually do have to sit at the computer.  That’s this morning.  I’ve been typing for an hour. (I’m a pretty fast typist.) and still have more to do. 

I had to take a moment to write a grumbly blog.  Okay, it’s done.  Back I go to typing.

About jeanetteraleigh

Jeanette Raleigh is an artist and author who has spent most of her life at some creative pursuit. Whether painting a castle or writing a novel, Jeanette enjoys the playful aspects of creation and strives to make worlds where others feel at home. You can find her works of art and information about her fiction at www.jeanetteraleigh.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Grumbly Typing

  1. Renard Moreau says:

    [ Soft Laughter ] You have a serious task at hand. I admire your desire to store your notes “old school” style.
    In my case, I store them in the notepad of my BlackBerry smartphone.
    Only a small percentage of my posts are composed on the computer.
    I like your blog and do keep up the good work!

  2. Everyone has their own creative processs, that which works for them. And everyone has a part of that process (if not all of it) which they see as hard work or a chore.
    By making notes by hand and then writing them up later, you have a built-in revision system. That sounds pretty sensible to me :o)

  3. I also write in notbooks and then to computer like your method. And, things get edited in the process.

  4. I use your same method of notebooks, then into computer. Years ago I read that a late, famous author typed his dialogue directly into his Smith Corona. It was a more natural dialog feeling to type the character’s speech.

  5. Zen says:

    I usually keep my notebooks for jotting down ideas, but any writing needs to typed. I actually feel more productive when I type. xD

  6. If only I caught all the things needing editing in the type-through…even after three edits, I STILL find stuff to fix. 🙂

Leave a Reply

