All You Need is Love

I adore this box.  Was it specially crafted by a family member?  No.  Close friend?  No.  As a matter of fact, I have no idea who made it.  My mom got it somewhere from a craft convention or sidewalk vendor and asked me if I wanted it.  I said no as a knee-jerk reaction. I didn’t want stuff cluttering up my house.

Over the course of my visit, I kept looking at it, and my no became a yes. From a logical perspective, I think I shouldn’t like it because it doesn’t fit societal standards of elegance. At first, I didn’t want to like it. What would that say about my taste?  And yet I was drawn to the box as if it were made just for me. There’s no pattern to the pieces. But that doesn’t matter.  I love every square centimeter of it.

I started thinking about it.  Why would a box with a hundred randomly glued costume jewelry pieces have such a magnetic pull on me?  I looked deeper. The box itself is finished and well-crafted. The pieces are glued tight. It’s well-crafted even if over-the-top.  It’s been sitting on my dresser for months and I came to a realization.  The box was created with love. Someone loved making this box.  They picked out each piece and built a unique work of art.  Notice the hearts and the trim. And that love was somehow transferred into this work of art.

I don’t always paint or write with love. Sometimes I’m going through the motions. Our work suffers when we forget the most important ingredient. All you need is love.

About jeanetteraleigh

Jeanette Raleigh is an artist and author who has spent most of her life at some creative pursuit. Whether painting a castle or writing a novel, Jeanette enjoys the playful aspects of creation and strives to make worlds where others feel at home. You can find her works of art and information about her fiction at www.jeanetteraleigh.com.
This entry was posted in artwork, creativity, painting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

