The Snow Dragon

I bet everyone thought I was going to write a blog complaining about the snow.  Nope.  I LOVE snow, especially when I don’t have to drive, walk, or slide through it.  Today I spent the early afternoon in the delightful past-time of snow sculpting.

If I were younger, it would be building a snowman. Snowmen are boring.  They were fine when I was a kid and drew houses with two sides and a triangle roof, but now that I’ve progressed in my view of the world, I guess my snow-play has progressed, too.

And I learned a few things…

1) It’s okay to get your knees wet. (Somehow this is a given for kids, but I was out there working for a while until I remembered.)

2) There’s no dog poop in the yard.  We don’t own a dog, but the neighbors do, so I had a few fears way down deep in the recesses of my mind that it might cause a problem.

3) Even if the air is polluted with airplane fuel and radioactive particles ,  the snow still tastes good. (I’m not such a kid that I ate it off the ground…refer back to potential dog…)

4) Digital cameras just don’t do a snow sculpture justice. (I had to use severe contrasting to make the shadows stand out.)

To give a quick rundown of the image.  I made a Snow Dragon with it’s head curling around.  On top of it’s back is a toddler dragon and in the protective circle of the Mama Dragon is a wee baby dragon.

 

I’m doing the snow dance…maybe we’ll get more tonight!

About jeanetteraleigh

Jeanette Raleigh is an artist and author who has spent most of her life at some creative pursuit. Whether painting a castle or writing a novel, Jeanette enjoys the playful aspects of creation and strives to make worlds where others feel at home. You can find her works of art and information about her fiction at www.jeanetteraleigh.com.
This entry was posted in artwork, snow man and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Snow Dragon

  1. Soooooo . . . . did mama dragon give her wee ones names? (hopefully they don’t throw fire–it would be a little self-inflicting). Very cute and very creative.

  2. Thanks! Unfortunately, she followed the snow north before I could ask 🙂 They throw frost, a rare breed and usually not seen this far south…

Leave a Reply

