Goal Setting

New Year’s Day is upon us. What is a fresh and shiny year without a list of goals?  I’m all prepared.  I have a chart.  I have stickers.  Nothing more is needed except maybe some will-power and determination.

Why set goals?  I mean, if you know what you want, why not just do it?

The  answer lies in the scope of the final desire.  Writing a novel is a huge undertaking.  Ten pages in and it can feel overwhelming, even if I’ve finished novels before.  When I’m thinking of whether to write a few pages or read, watch television, do, well, anything else, it’s easy to think, well, it’s 300 pages, what difference does a few pages make?  And that is exactly how novels are NOT written. Because the days not writing will add up.

Goal setting helps tighten the focus on an overwhelming task.

If you look at the picture posted for the blog, you’ll see a daily log book focusing on my daily goals.  The big goals are on my whiteboard.

My second goal is to eat healthy.  I know even as I write this, I will be lacking a sticker at some point in the month when I eat a cheesecake and another day when I eat a pumpkin scone.  And sometime in March, I have plans for some cupcakes. So I’ve built in a system where I can still flake out a bit without completely losing focus.  When I go cold turkey, one mis-step and I figure why bother.  When I don’t track it at all, I’m a sugar fiend.

Yep, that’s what you need, will-power, determination….and some shiny stickers…

 

 

 

About jeanetteraleigh

Jeanette Raleigh is an artist and author who has spent most of her life at some creative pursuit. Whether painting a castle or writing a novel, Jeanette enjoys the playful aspects of creation and strives to make worlds where others feel at home. You can find her works of art and information about her fiction at www.jeanetteraleigh.com.
This entry was posted in New Year's Resolution, writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Goal Setting

  1. Donna Brown says:

    Good for you! I too have written a novel. I am working on my second. I also have a number of other writing projects (including college class writing projects) that I also work on. Then there’s social media! Goal setting is imperative otherwise these things take over. I was reading in The Art of War for Writers that the author of the book James Scott Bell uses the time that he uses to go for his walk as a time to reflect on his writing project so that while he is on his walk he sometimes gets inspiration so he has a notebook with him to write it down. Then when he gets back to his computer, he builds on what he wrote on his walk. What I like about what he said is that if I do the same thing, I will be meeting two goals at the same time. I think that same idea would work for you too? What do you think?

    • Thanks for the info. I’ll look up the book. The kernal of the book I’m about to edit actually came from a walk to the library, but I do need to do MORE of it and I love the idea of having a notebook handy. I completely lost a subplot in the car once because it was a quick flash and then I got busy and by the time I was home and able to think, it was gone.

  2. satsumaart says:

    I love stickers for goal-setting too — my mom raised me on these kinds of charts! 🙂

  3. So on board with the goal setting. I am too a sugar (and salt and caffeine) fiend! ; ) Writing down everything I eat (gulp!) is a big eye opener for me. Best of luck with both your goals. I’ll be riding along side you ..

  4. Thanks. Well, my first week has been very telling. On the 1000 words a day, I have 6 smiley face stickers. On the healthy eating, my poor little page is mostly bare. But the doughnuts sure did taste good…

    Apparently, I am serious about half of my resolutions…

Leave a Reply

