Time Saving Measures

We’re all busy, frazzled at work, overwhelmed at home, trying to find a way to jam everything into twenty-four hours.  There are a thousand pieces of advice to take, and actually following a few would probably help.  I’ve overextended myself these past few months, and spent a lot of time wasting time as well (at least on the home front.)

Saving time at work has always been easy for me, so I think I can help people with this regard.

 Are you doing repetitive tasks, i.e. formatting in spreadsheets in reports or typing the same thing in emails ?

The computer can actually be programmed to do quite a bit for you.  In Excel, they’re called Macros and they’re a lifesaver.  If you have always moved this column to that column, added a header, or changed the font on the same report over and over, record a macro once and from then on, the computer will take care of it for you.

On another note, Autocorrect is NOT JUST FOR BAD SPELLING!!!  I can type AAA into my email and the words “Good Morning” pop up.  Any legal jargon, repetitive “Attached are the reports for blah blah blah”, etc. can be automated in email.  Just find the help button, look up autocorrect and follow the instructions, assigning your own repetitive wording to letters.

Get completed items out of your way.

When something is ready to file, file it.  Paperwork just in itself can cause stress, and if it can disappear with a few moments of organization, take the few moments.

I could ramble for an hour on the subject, but for now, those two bits will help.

I have no good advice for saving time in my home life.  For myself, I need to change something. My first steps will be to cut down time spent on forums and stay off the internet.  You can see for yourself how well that is working for me…:)

About jeanetteraleigh

Jeanette Raleigh is an artist and author who has spent most of her life at some creative pursuit. Whether painting a castle or writing a novel, Jeanette enjoys the playful aspects of creation and strives to make worlds where others feel at home. You can find her works of art and information about her fiction at www.jeanetteraleigh.com.
This entry was posted in organization, work and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

