Quiet Time

I’m in a creative lull.  Not that I don’t have a million projects to work on.  I do.  And I’m not ‘stuck’.  On two of my books, I know exactly what’s going to happen next.  I could write five pages on a few scenes that are just waiting to go. It’s just that right now, I don’t want to work on any of them.  Paint?  No. Not in the mood.

This is not a permanent lull…not a month or week-long drop in productivity.  It’s just that right now in these next few hours, I need space from writing, painting, drawing…any and all of those things I normally do when I get home.

It’s okay.  It’s okay today to be lazy and hang out on the sofa with a book and the remote, to sit at the kitchen table and put together a puzzle.  Why?  Because sometimes creativity needs the quiet.  Sometimes the idea is almost there…so close, but just a bit more percolation and it will be ready.

Perhaps this is self-indulgent, not to force myself to write or paint now when I don’t feel like it, but it’s a different feeling than procrastination.  I know when I’m procrastinating and this isn’t it.  This halt on productivity is more like the silence before the storm.  My creative self is gathering itself together for something big…and now is the time to get out of the way and let it happen.

And so, off I go to do nothing for a while.

About jeanetteraleigh

Jeanette Raleigh is an artist and author who has spent most of her life at some creative pursuit. Whether painting a castle or writing a novel, Jeanette enjoys the playful aspects of creation and strives to make worlds where others feel at home. You can find her works of art and information about her fiction at www.jeanetteraleigh.com.
This entry was posted in artwork, creativity, painting, Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Quiet Time

  1. Writing Jobs says:

    Great post thanks. I really enjoyed it very much. You have a great blog here. Thanks again for sharing.

    Love writing? We would love for you to join us!

    – Writers Wanted –

  2. Not self indulgent – just self aware – which makes you more productive. I understand completely. Enjoy the calm before the storm. Nice post

Leave a Reply

