Torture is Evil

It shouldn’t have to be said.  We ALL know right from wrong, good from evil.  So why, since Abu Ghraib have our favorite ‘good guy’ characters on television started torturing?

The first time I caught it was on V when the supposed good guys started torturing the aliens with the blatant message “the ends justify the means”.  Am I supposed to buy that?  Sorry, I have a little more well-developed sense of right and wrong.  And so, I dropped V like a hot rock. (Sorry Morena, Love you, I do, but I won’t support the message).

When the boys on Supernatural first started the torture business, they did it with angst and the knowledge that they were doing wrong.  Now, the angst is gone and torture is just “the thing to do” .  Neatly packaged the way good has transformed into evil before our very eyes…it’s almost easy to miss with all of the other adventures.

I gave Supernatural a pass for a few years, fast-forwarding the parts I didn’t like, because I’d already been invested in the show, but when Dean hit Ben last season, I was done with Supernatural as well.  (Again, sorry Jensen, Jared, Jim, and Misha).

So now, I am left with a lot fewer television shows to watch, which is a plus for my creative side, but it’s left me wondering…does anyone else notice the trend?  Does anyone care?  These studios are trying to influence our perception on right and wrong…and NOT in a good way.

Turning on any media or source of information, whether television, radio, movies, or internet is like inviting someone into your home.  And my philosophy is when you’re in my home, you’re a guest.  If a character acts  like an animal, they can go right outside to the barnyard.  That sort of thing is not welcome. Am I the only one to feel so strongly?

I’m just wondering…do I have to say it aloud?  TORTURE IS AN ACT OF EVIL.

About jeanetteraleigh

Jeanette Raleigh is an artist and author who has spent most of her life at some creative pursuit. Whether painting a castle or writing a novel, Jeanette enjoys the playful aspects of creation and strives to make worlds where others feel at home. You can find her works of art and information about her fiction at www.jeanetteraleigh.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

