The downfall of Promises…

I made a statement, not a large statement.  Just a Christmas cover and a title with a Coming Soon next to it on my web page. In essence, I made a promise to my readers.

And now I’m paying for it.

The novelette is inching along, creeping in fact, like a horror movie dead thing that slithers across the floor invisible until the heroine can no longer avoid the fact that yes, it is still alive.

It’s not that I don’t like the idea that I’m working on for this particular novelette.  I’m a writer and so have a tendency toward the overly dramatic…or shall we say in my case, melodramatic.  But still.  I have a novel begging to be written, and writing THAT piece is what I want to do, but I made a promise and so I write the hard pages, promising myself that when I’m done with my pages for the novelette, I”ll work on the other, more enticing work. It’s a compromise…but also a lesson.

I’ve decided no more sneak peaks or posts about what is COMING SOON.  (I’m sure I’ll break this rule eventually, but for now, I’m feeling the pinch of my own big mouth).

And the worst thing?  Probably a grand total of ten people even KNOW about the Christmas episode coming and half of them don’t care.

But to be a good businessperson is to follow through on statements and promises.  Only twenty pages to go, and I know I’ll make it…but I wish I didn’t have to.

About jeanetteraleigh

Jeanette Raleigh is an artist and author who has spent most of her life at some creative pursuit. Whether painting a castle or writing a novel, Jeanette enjoys the playful aspects of creation and strives to make worlds where others feel at home. You can find her works of art and information about her fiction at www.jeanetteraleigh.com.
This entry was posted in ebooks, Epublishing, writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

