E-publishing – Why go there?

My first foray into E-publishing came as something of a lark when my writer’s group all decided that we were going to write a serial series, like those pulp fiction cliff-hangers, for Kindle.  So began a journey that has left me strangely content and eager to publish more.

The last fifteen years of my writing life has been spent writing, sending to publishers, writing more, reading rejection letters. Basically the same scenario every writer has faced since the advent of commercial fiction. But unlike those tenacious bulldogs who actually make it into print, I recoiled at the rejection letters, buried the rejected novel, went off into a corner to lick my wounds, write another book, and wait until I gathered enough courage to send it off again.

I still have the business cards of a few editors and agents from the conference I attended a few years back before this marvelous discovery that I could actually publish myself.

Any other writer reading this is going to ask. Yes, but do you make money doing it?  Not enough to quit my day job, but as my husband tells me, “You’re having fun doing it and getting paid.”

That’s the key right there.  When I wrote for PUBLISHERS, I could look forward to a rejection letter.  That was it. And with no audience, a story isn’t as much fun.  Now, I have an audience, and I LOVE writing, and I LOVE painting, because I know somewhere, someone will say, “Hey, that’s a cool story about a weremouse” or “Great perspective on that painting.” And it feeds my soul.

About jeanetteraleigh

Jeanette Raleigh is an artist and author who has spent most of her life at some creative pursuit. Whether painting a castle or writing a novel, Jeanette enjoys the playful aspects of creation and strives to make worlds where others feel at home. You can find her works of art and information about her fiction at www.jeanetteraleigh.com.
This entry was posted in ebooks, Epublishing, Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

